Big Brother 15 keeping it all the way real.. Real Prejudice..

BOBp4IFCQAETV27

CBS’s hit show Big Brother has become a guilty pleasure for me the past few summers. I’ve never been much of a reality show watcher but this human game of chess composed of many layers of lies and deceit is rather interesting to me. Put a bunch of strangers in a house together with cash on the line and you really get to see how shitty people will become to one another all in the name of the Almighty Dollar.

This season, not even two weeks in, may go down as one of the most controversial ever. Now the conspiracy theorist in me finds it interesting that this is happening so close to the Paula Deen debacle which has been a ratings draw. I find it interesting how the following event after David, Aaryn’s on camera love interest, gets evicted Jeremy and Aaryn get away with cheating and Jeremy was so quick to give Aaryn the HOH only to follow up with I can focus on trying to win HOH next week. Regardless of all that, the problem at hand is that this season’s cast is rather, well prejudice.

As I scour online from Tumblr to Twitter to Facebook, I see people in an uproar calling for Aaryn and several other House Guest to be removed from the show. I find this interesting, for one, because all the people I see upset are Caucasians who have not been targeted by any of this bigotry. Also because, and maybe its due to my cynical view of the world as a 30-year-old African-American, I think to myself, “Who Cares?”

The fact that a bunch of Caucasians, many from the South, have prejudice viewpoints just doesn’t shock me anymore. Similar to the Paula Deen incident. I didn’t bat my eye at it, because it wasn’t a surprise. I was more surprised how the Paula Deen incident turned from a TV celebrity using derogatory slurs to, “Well black people say nigger, why can’t I?” (My thoughts being, why do you wanna say nigger so bad?) I also won’t get started on CNN’s, “What’s Worse the N-Word or Cracker?” (Probably the one you had to bleep out.) Also when did this turn into a black/white thing, I thought a white woman sued her and not about the N-Word.

I don’t care when a TV personality gets caught with their pants down and says something not PC. All it once again shows me is that the only difference between the 60’s and now is at least back then, you knew who your enemy was.

P.S. Dear Aaryn, whose parents probably meant to name you Aryan but got the spelling wrong, if you ever decide to walk on the dark side.. DM me.. @whoisadversity

Holla!

Less end this with a Big Brother Bigotry MegaMix!!!

2 thoughts on “Big Brother 15 keeping it all the way real.. Real Prejudice..

  1. Damn, you really went in on this chick. How the hell is she gonna try and justify this shit by saying, “well they call me Barbie!” Wow.. Like that is somehow a comparison to the despicable things she said. But you’re right about ppl acting like this is shocking. I grew up in the white South and this shit is not so uncommon. It’s just these peeps got caught saying how they were really feeling, and then tried to turn it around on the ppl they were using the slurs against.

    • It is hilarious because she got evicted from the house recently and stated that white people from the south just get a bad rep and they don’t mean to be racist when they make racist comments. It was golden. It’s just a shame because no one in the house stood a chance this year because of the people with racial point of views clicked up and systematically evicted all of the “others” one by one..

Leave a Reply

